The WVSTA Officers are a dedicated group of volunteers who come from the classroom, state government, higher education, and retired educators.

Josh Revels


Josh works for Fairmont State as a NASA Education Specialist at the Katherine Johnson IV&V Facility in Fairmont, WV.


Davita Meleander


Davita teaches science at Springs Mills Middle School in Martinsburg, WV.


Wayne Yonkelowitz


Wayne is a retired science teacher living in Fayetteville, WV who was a national winner of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Math/Science Teaching.

Erika Klose

Past President

Erika is the STEM Coordinator for the West Virginia Department of Education in Charleston, WV.

Leslie Lively

Vice President

Leslie works for as a 4th grade teacher at Short Line School in Pine Grove, WV.

Laura Bohrer

Vice President of Membership

Laura teaches science at Spring Mills Middle School in Martinsburg, WV.


Dr. Deb Hemler

Executive Director

Deb oversees science education and methods at Fairmont State University where she is also the Interim Chair of Natural Sciences in Fairmont, WV.


Jennifer Schwertfeger

WVDE Liason

Jennifer is the Science Coordinator for the West Virginia Department of Education in Charleston, WV.


Dr. Angela McKeen

Labnotes Editor

Angela teachers science at Notre Dame High School in Clarksburg, WV

WVSTA Officers

The President is a 2 year position that provides leadership and management for the organization.  Vice President is a two-year position that oversees the annual conference before ascending to the throne.  The other officer positions are voted on annually in early fall with all officer positions ratified at the conference. Any member in good standing can be nominated for a position.