West Virginia Science Teachers Association (WVSTA)

WVSTA is a statewide organization that has provided for or supported many of the professional development needs of teachers of science in West Virginia for over 30 years. Starting from humble beginnings with 60 motivated science teachers in 1985, our organization has grown into the forum for science education reform in West Virginia, including the development of regional Science-Mathematics Consortia all over the state. Our members include Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle School, High School and College teachers as well as Informal Education, Business and Technical Professionals.

WV NxGen Science Standards to NGSS Crosswalk - PDF

WVSTA Officers

The President is a 2 year position that provides leadership and management for the organization.  Vice President is a two-year position that oversees the annual conference before ascending to the throne.  The other officer positions are voted on annually in early fall with all officer positions ratified at the conference. Any member in good standing can be nominated for a position.


Erika Klose


Erika is the STEM Coordinator for the West Virginia Department of Education in Charleston, WV.


Josh Revels

Vice President

Josh works for Fairmont State as a NASA Education Specialist at the Katherine Johnson IV&V Facility in Fairmont, WV.


Davita Meleander


Davita teaches science at Springs Mills Middle School in Martinsburg, WV.


Rhonda Wood

Vice President of Membership

Rhonda teaches science at the Cabell County Alternative School in Huntington, WV.


Wayne Yonkelowitz


Wayne is a retired science teacher living in Fayetteville, WV.


Dr. Deb Hemler

Executive Director

Deb oversees science education and methods at Fairmont State University where she is also the Interim Dean of the College of Science and Technology in Fairmont, WV.


Carolyn Thomas

Past President

Carolyn teaches science at Wildwood Middle School in Shenandoah Junction, WV.


Carolyn Thomas

Newsletter Editor

Carolyn also edits our newsletter!


Dr. Joe Evans

HIgher Education Liason

Joe is retired faculty and Professor Emeritus at Glenville State College in Glenville, WV.


Robin Sizemore

WVDE Liason

Robin is the Science Coordinator for the West Virginia Department of Education in Charleston, WV.


Dr. Angela McKeen


Angela teaches science at Notre Dame High School in Clarksburg, WV.


Dr. Todd Ensign

Conference Registration

Todd works for Fairmont State as the Program Manager at the Katherine Johnson IV&V Facility in Fairmont, WV.